Miscarriage Follow-up

As promised, here is an update after going to my doctor to see if the miscarriage was complete. Of course, it’s almost 3 weeks late. And no…I do not have any good reason for waiting this long! Let’s blame it on laziness.

I went in for my follow up appointment on August 14th. I felt a little bit nervous, but my honest gut feeling was that everything was completed. After enduring my second trans-vaginal ultrasound (which was still as shocking as the first…yes, please stick a wand up my vagina), I was pronounced in the clear. No remaining parts from my short-lasting pregnancy.

The period-like bleeding continued for 10 days, and I continued spotting until August 24th, 3 weeks from my initial dose of Misoprostol. Suddenly, I was free from wearing adult diapers (I mean pads). The hubby and I were cleared to have sex on August 26th, 3 weeks after the heavy bleeding started. I now have a very happy husband.

As for TTC again, we were advised to wait until I had completed one cycle to allow my body to reset itself (she suggested even 2-3 cycles for emotional reasons). She said my period could begin anywhere from 6-8 weeks after the miscarriage had started. That puts me between September 16-30. I feel like I ovulated (based on signs) on the 28th of August, so I am expecting my period around the 11th. Usually I start around 14 days after ovulation. I also have a nice and long cycle of 35 days. It’s awesome…not. So, if I’m on target, my cycle will be 37 days, but it could be up to 56 days, which was essentially how long I thought I was pregnant. However, she also said that if I were to get pregnant before one cycle was up it was not a big deal. We are using condoms to prevent that (which works because I got my flu shot today and I was hoping to not get it when pregnant…a minor plus, if you can call it a plus, from the miscarriage).

Emotionally, I feel like I am back to my normal self. Not a day goes by where I don’t think about what could have been, but I am no longer weepy and antisocial. I’ve been surrounding myself with good friends, family, and my loving hubby, and that’s been extremely helpful. It was also nice when hubby opened up to me and let me know he was feeling bummed out about the miscarriage. I felt like I was the sad one, and it was nice to know that we are on the same page.

Hopefully I can get pregnant again quickly, but I can tell you right now that I am NOT going to be a crazy tracker of all things ovulation. That means no ovulation kits and no BBT. Just my trusty Women’s log app, and who knows how accurate that is. I feel like if it’s meant to be, it’ll happen. And if I get antsy, I can get fancy…

Leave a Reply

