Isn’t it ironic

It really seems so surreal, but as of yesterday, I’m 13 weeks pregnant. 

We had the NT scan on Friday and everything was right on track and looked as it should for this stage. We were given a low risk for Trisomies 18 and 21. About 1 in 4000. I find those numbers ironic as the odds of me being born with a unicornuate uterus are also about 1 in 4000. Just a funny thought to go with statistics, because they are just numbers. What really will happen remains to be seen. 

My period-like cramping stopped Tuesday night and I have not spotted for the last two days. In fact, I’ve hardly had any spotting since Thursday, so that’s a relief. I’m still scared, but for some reason yesterday was the first day I actually felt excited. It was weird having those feelings because they are so foreign to me in pregnancy. 

My next appointment is almost 3 weeks away. It will be the longest I’ve gone without some sort of reassurance. I’m hoping to tough it out and wait, but my OB said I can come in whenever I need some extra TLC. I’m so thankful I switched!

Sending you all lots of good thoughts. 

21 thoughts on “Isn’t it ironic

  1. Amy M.

    I’ve been thinking about you a ton this weekend!! I’m so glad that things for the most part went well. I’ve read so many stories of women that were told their babies are going to have either of those issues, but are born perfectly fine. I hope that turns out to be your case as well!! So happy that your cramping and spotting has stopped as well!! All great news! Awesome of your Dr to let you come in for a scan if you need reassurance. I hope that things continue to stay calm and go well for you!! I’m 12 weeks today, and have my NT on Wednesday…I’ll let you know how things go on my end lol!

    Like

    Reply
    1. RJ Post author

      Thank you so much! 12 weeks, so amazing! I am looking forward to hearing about your NT scan as well! Yeah I’m so lucky to have a new OB who is willing to deal with my (I think justified) anxiety lol!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. mamajo23

    Excellent news for a healthy baby with such low low risk! I am getting really excited for you and hope you are able to settle into this pregnancy and enjoy it. Xo

    Like

    Reply
  3. EmilyMaine

    Yay! If you feel stressed just head to the OB. Mine used to let me go every week in the early stages and I adore him for it. I needed peace of mind and he gave it to me and for that I will be forever grateful. So pleased all went well for you and the cramping has stopped. X

    Like

    Reply
    1. RJ Post author

      Wow what a wonderful OB you have! It’s so great when people in the medical world are able to put themselves in their patients shoes. Thanks for the support!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Jennie

    I totally get what you mean when you say it feels surreal. I still feel that way at 25 weeks! I also feel the same way as you about statistics. What will happen will happen. It is so true! Of course I am glad that everything came back low risk for you 🙂

    Between weeks 19 and 22 we also had a 3 week stretch. It was really scary! My obgyn also said I could come in anytime. I am glad yours said the same thing.

    I am so glad things are going well for you!

    Like

    Reply
  5. CJandMe

    Sending you positive thoughts for your pregnancy. You’ve hit a huge milestone but like you, it’s impossible to relax and not worry. All the best to you and your baby. Thank you for always having a kind word on my blog.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

