My First Trip to L&D and the Anatomy Scan

Last weekend my husband I were out of town visiting my grandparents and I began experiencing some intense on and off pelvic pressure. Finally after enduring it for about 24 hours, I decided to go to the ER for some reassurance. I was hoping it was nothing serious but with my cervix risk factors I just wanted to be sure. Plus there was no way I could enjoy the rest of my trip with this fear weighting on me. 

Apparently in Southern California you go to L&D anytime after 16 weeks so the triage RN in thr ER sent me up there (here in Northern California it’s anytime after 20 weeks). I was put into a monitoring room almost immediately and gave a urine sample, which was negative for a UTI. Then the RN put the contraction monitor on me. I was not having any contractions. The OB did a cervix check and a vaginal ultrasound to check the cervical length. Thankfully it was closed and measuring at 4cm. She could tell from the pelvic exam that I had a yeast infection…joy! I haven’t had one of those in YEARS! I am taking 7 days of Monistat cream, and the abdominal pressure and other symptoms were gone within a day. 

It’s funny but I’m glad something wasn’t right because I didn’t want to seem like I’m overly paranoid. My husband reminded me that I’m usually  in-tune with my body and I know when something isn’t right. I’m so glad he was there with me. So I think I need to get over those paranoid feelings and go with my instincts!

Now onto my anatomy scan, which I had today at 19w5d. Surprisingly I was not super nervous about it until yesterday. I had a little bit of insomnia and a nightmare that we were running late to the exam. The exam itself took about an hour and I had to pee so badly by the end. There was no extra monitor for me to watch so I used a hand mirror to see the scan, which put my arm to sleep! Also, I specifically requested a vaginl measurement of my cervix for consistency, and I think the tech thought I was a little crazy. It was a little bit hard knowing the technician couldn’t tell us anything and we would have to wait for the radiologist to read the report and then for my OB to email the results. We did not get any vibes of something being wrong, although she spent a lot of time on the heart, and the scan of the face looked like the baby was missing her left eye. Fortunately we got the results within two hours of the scan being completed!

The scan results were great, thank goodness! Little girl is measuring in the 37th percentile (I’m super worries about IUGR with my unicornuate uterus as that is a potential complication) so that number is important to me. Otherwise she was within normal limits for everything (and still a girl). She was moving a TON and I felt none of it…come to find out I have an anterior right placenta so that is probably why I feel no movement. I have been feeling some kicks/flicks since 16 weeks, and they are more frequent and harder over the past few days and fairly high (just below belly button) or in the center just about half-way above my pubic bone. The placenta location is probably why I feel her kicks but not her wriggling. She’s head down so fingers crossed she stays that way (another fun unicornuate uterus thing is babies run out of room to turn as they get bigger, thus I have an increased risk of c/s). Cervix is nice and long/closed at 4cm thank goodness. 

I told my husband I will try to finally start relaxing now that all looks good. Hopefully I will be able to. We have started cleaning out our room, and creating a baby registry. It’s getting so much more real. Next milestone is my 22 week cervix check, and then viability at 24 weeks. It is a little surreal that I’m at the half way point (although realistically I will deliver early so I’ve already past half-way). 

Hope everyone is doing well.

20 thoughts on “My First Trip to L&D and the Anatomy Scan

  1. Amy M.

    Hooray for everything looking great!! Kinda sucks that the u/s tech can’t tell you anything, and that you didn’t have a screen to see!! One great thing I like about the tech at my MFM…she always tells us exactly what she’s doing/what we’re seeing, and there’s a huge TV monitor at the foot of the table so we can see clearly. How early will they induce you? I can’t remember. I’ve been saying the same thing this week as well…that next week (19w) will technically be our halfway point, since we will be induced 1-2 weeks early! Hooray for being half way!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. RJ Post author

      Yeah it was a total bummer, she kind of explained the different parts but not in the depth I would have liked (like you, I get medical stuff) but oh well. As for induction, we are not sure. It will depend on how my growth scan looks in the third trimester ( I think around 28-32 weeks will be that scan). If the baby is showing signs of IUGR, then we will discuss induction. My guess is if I’m lucky I’ll deliver between 36-37 weeks, but we will see how my uterus expands and cooperates!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. RJ Post author

      Yeah it’s hard! I love feeling her little kicks and now that I do feel them it makes me nervous if I don’t! Hope you’re doing well 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. notpregnantinrezza

    Congratulations on your scan going well and being half way through pregnancy! That sounds anxiety producing not being able to get your results straight away so glad to hear you didn’t have much of a wait. Good to hear that you feel you can relax a bit now. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. RJ Post author

      Hi! Yes things are going well, I’m a terrible blogger (but I love following everyone else)! I am working on a long overdue post! Thanks for checking in 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

