Our First Week Home

We had a lactation appointment and weight check the day after discharge. I was again in tears as I could not get her to latch once we got home. The lactation nurse weighed her, and she was 4lb 10oz, so gaining quite well and almost back to her birthweight. Then we tried to latch her. She was so frustrated and just wouldn’t latch. So the lactation RN gave me a nipple shield and baby A latched on immediately and transferred just under an ounce! I was so happy. 

My husband and I were confused as to why that wasn’t offered in the hospital. Well I researched nipple shields and realized that they are very controversial. If you don’t use the right brand, size, and place it correctly, you can actually decrease your milk supply. Also, babies can have a hard time weaning off of it. Still, it allowed me to breastfeed. Our schedule once she was nursing was for me to feed her every 3 hours (at least) and them pump after the feed to make sure she “emptied” my breast. She was also allowed to be supplemented with formula or expressed breast milk afterward. But she seemed satisfied after breastfeeding so we didn’t bother with supplementing. 

We went to the doctor for some discoloration around her lips and eyes. She looked blueish there and I was pretty sure she was ok, but I was so scared I had to get her checked out. Apparently it is normal in newborns due to thin skin and increased vasculature in those areas. She was weighed again and was 5lb 1oz! Passed birthweight at 1 week. I was very relieved. 

We had a follow up lactation appointment at the end of that week and she was 5lb 5oz! We were also able to latch her without the nipple shield, although it was a shallow latch and caused me some pain and nipple compression. The plan was to do some feedings without the nipple shield (as much as I could tolerate) and cut the pumping from after every feed down to 4 times a day. What a relief!

My husband also though it would be a brilliant idea to have his wisdom teeth removed in the 3 weeks he took off from work to be with me and our baby. Not the smartest decision we’ve ever made as he was in a lot of pain! And he refused to take the narcotic pain meds because he was getting a drug test the next week before he started a new job. Yup, that’s right, let’s make 2 huge life changes at one time…have a baby and make a career change! But his new job is way better, closer to home, better pay, better benefits, better hours, so it was the right move.  

2 thoughts on “Our First Week Home

Leave a Reply

